Final chance to have your say on a new political map for Buckinghamshire Council

Closed 11 Apr 2023

Opened 28 Feb 2023

Results updated 30 May 2023

A review of Buckinghamshire Council’s electoral arrangements has now concluded.

The changes, recommended by the Local Government Boundary Commission after several rounds of public consultation, have now been published.

Currently there are 147 Buckinghamshire councillors, with three councillors representing each of the 49 wards. 

As from the May 2025 elections, there will be 97 councillors representing the same number of wards:

  • 10 three-councillor wards
  • 28 two-councillor wards
  • 11 one-councillor wards

View the Commission’s overall map of the new arrangements (PDF 10.69MB). A full list of the new wards is at Appendix A of the Commission’s report (PDF 9.53MB).


 Local Government Boundary Commission logo

The Local Government Boundary Commission is undertaking further consultation on new boundaries for four council wards in the south-east of Buckinghamshire. These wards are:

  • Chalfont St Peter
  • Farnhams & Stoke Poges
  • Gerrards Cross & Denham
  • Iver

During consultation on the draft recommendations published on 2 August 2022, the Commission received 558 representations.

Most representations commented on the proposed Chalfont St Peter and Gerrards Cross & Denham wards.

A significant majority of these submissions expressed opposition. Many respondents provided a great deal of evidence describing their community to substantiate their opposition to the proposals.

As a result, the Commission has published further draft recommendations for these wards.

The Commission is not seeking submissions in regard to the rest of the authority.

Proposed changes

The commission is proposing four wards in the south-east of the authority, consisting of two three-councillor wards and two two-councillor wards.

Proposed changes from the original draft proposals include:

  • The boundary between the Commission’s Chalfont St Peter and Gerrards Cross & Denham wards now broadly follows Austenwood Common and Kingsway.
  • A reduction of the number of councillors for Chalfont St Peter ward from three to two.
  • The inclusion of Hedgerley and Fulmer parishes in Gerrards Cross & Denham ward.

For more information about the proposals, please see the draft recommendations report (PDF 1.1MB).

Related documents

Before you respond to the consultation, please have a look at the following document:

How to have your say

You can tell the Commission your views in one of the following ways: 

  • Submit comments online using the link at the end of the page
  • Email your views to
  • Write and post your views to Review Officer (Buckinghamshire) LGBCE, PO Box 133 Blyth, NE24 9FE

Please give your views by Monday 5 December 2022.

What happens next

Once this consultation closes, the review will complete the following steps:

  • 30 May 2023 - Final report. Commission’s recommendations are published
  • Summer 2023 - Order laid in Parliament. This makes the recommendations law
  • May 2025 - Effective date. The new arrangements apply to elections after this date

For more information about the review process for Buckinghamshire Council, please visit the Local Government Boundary Commission for England website.


  • Beeches
  • Denham, Gerrards Cross and Chalfonts
  • Wexham and Ivers


  • Democracy